• February 21, 2023 9:02 AM | John Curtis (Administrator)

    We are currently accepting nominations for our four DCSS awards. The nomination deadline is April 3, 2023 for all awards. We expect to present all awards in-person at the Annual Awards Dinner in May (date TBA soon). 

    The Stuart A. Rice Merit Award for Career Achievements is presented to a distinguished senior member of the Society who has made a significant contribution to the discipline. 

    Irene B. Taeuber Graduate Student Paper Award. Graduate students are invited to submit papers for consideration for this award, open to all graduate students enrolled in Virginia, Maryland, and District of Columbia area colleges and universities. The winning authors each receive a $200 cash award and will be recognized at the May awards banquet.

    The Morris Rosenberg Award is presented for outstanding sociological achievement during the past three years by any member of DCSS.

    The Anna Julia Cooper Award for Public Sociology by a Community Organization is given to a community group using the methods and insights of sociology in its work to improve life in the DCSS service area. 

    For more details including nomination procedures and past award winners, see the Awards page.

  • December 20, 2022 12:22 PM | John Curtis (Administrator)

    You may notice that the DCSS website has a totally new look. More than just a change of colors and layout, the new website is part of an integrated association management software platform that will enable us to do a much better job of communicating with member and non-member sociologists in the DMV. The new website combines membership processing, events, and communication in a single platform. Look for more information on these new functions coming soon!

  • December 05, 2022 11:43 AM | John Curtis (Administrator)

    DCSS begins 2022-2023 with newly-elected officers and a new executive committee. We are in the process of planning events for the coming year and welcome input from all!

    Gay Young of American University is the new President of DCSS and Alexandra Rodriguez of Howard University is the new Secretary. John W. Curtis continues as Treasurer and Jill Brantley continues as Editor of The Sociologist. The new executive committee members include Yoku Shaw-Taylor (Immediate Past President), Sally Hillsman (past ASA Executive Officer), Jason Smith (George Mason University and Kaiser Permanente), Michelle Newton (American University), Evita Bynum (Catholic University of America), and Denae Bradley (Howard University).

Copyright (c) District of Columbia Sociological Society. Contact us:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software